The Eleventh Edition of Tata Literature Live! The Mumbai Litfest
Monday, November 16th to Sunday, November 22nd 2020

Virtual Festival
Real Books

Live on YouTube, Facebook,
Twitter & Instagram

No Birds Sing

  • Saturday, 21st Nov
  • 11:00 am - 12:00 pm IST

Death, depression, dementia, violence, hatred, loneliness, child abuse, bleak terrains, evil regimes, hopeless futures – many new novels, even by young writers, focus on the dark side. Is this the authors’ view or experience of life, or is it a way of highlighting increasingly prevalent wrongs which need to be righted. Do dystopian novels work by validating the alienation and unhappiness that the reader may already be feeling? Or are they cautionary tales, which by showing the worst that can happen when people go wrong, conversely cause the reader to prize virtue and compassion, and to recognise, and thereby resist, agendas that would wreak evil in this world?


Private: Andrey Kurkov

Andrey is a Ukrainian novelist who writes in Russian and Ukrainian. He is the author of over 20 novels and 10 books for children. His work has been translated into 37 languages.

More Info

Markus Zusak

Markus Zusak is the international bestselling and multi-award winning author of six novels including Bridge of Clay, The Book Thief and I am the Messenger.

More Info

Milena Moser

Milena Moser is one of the most prolific and beloved Swiss authors.

More Info

Sonal Shah

Sonal Shah is a New Delhi based writer and editor with roots in the Washington, DC area.

More Info

You May Also Like

Inauguration of Tata Literature Live! 2020

  • Monday, 16th Nov
  • 6:30 pm - 7:00 pm IST

Festival Inauguration followed by The Enduring Power Of Words.
Ian McEwan live in conversation with Anil Dharker.

Living A Little, Meaning A Lot

  • Wednesday, 18th Nov
  • 5:15 pm - 6:15 pm IST

From The Particular To The Universal.
Howard Jacobson in conversation with Karthika VK.

Words Of Inspiration

  • Wednesday, 18th Nov
  • 6:30 pm - 7:30 pm IST

Books That Made Me A Writer.
A panel discussion with Ashwin Sanghi, Cauvery Madhavan, Ira Mukhoty, Taran Khan with Rehana Munir as the chair.

View Full Schedule